amp shopping for a newb

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
canuckerjay 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: May 10, 2011 at 5:31 PM / IP Logged  
Hi guys;
I posted something else about me picking up Type Rs that are 2 ohms, but they won't vibe well with my amp. I'm getting back into car audio, and wanted to use my old MTX BT Pro 300.2 to power 2x 10" Type Rs. But idiot that I am, I figured buy 2 ohm subs, cause 4 ohm models will rob me of potential power. See - I had no idea how dual voice coils work. Now I've got 2 subs that I can't really utilize with that amp. Others have advised to keep the subs, replace the amp, saying I could use more power.
After considerations, It seems I'm looking to buy a new amp.
Issue: I have no knowledge at all about today's amps. I have a RF 200.2 from 1997 that powered my 2x6" Type R components up front and the Type R 6x9s in the back.
Was satisfied with that.
Have the MTX that powered 2 10" Boston Acoustics.
Was happy with the amp.
So -- I can't drop like 800 bucks or anything like that on an amp for these subs i have. But That's the level I was happy with. I'm not willing to go any lower on sound quality.
The question is:
What kind of amp would you recommend to run the two new 2 ohm Type R subs?
PLEASE keep in mind that I'm rather ignorant in Stereo jargon beyond terms like 'RMS'
THe other question is for whatever amp you'd recommend, how much would I expect to pay used or new?
Thanks so much for your advice. This forum was a great place 10 years ago and Its nice to be back here.
blanx218 
Silver - Posts: 654
Silver spacespace
Posted: May 10, 2011 at 10:14 PM / IP Logged