the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

remove braces for subbox and airspace?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mopower76 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Joined: December 01, 2008
Location: Illinois, United States
Posted: May 19, 2011 at 11:24 PM / IP Logged  

I was wondering if anyone has removed the floor bracing under the rear seats in  a Dodge ram quad cab (2002-08) to install a larger custom sub box but still utilize the rear seat in the factory position? I have been using a pre-fab box for a while now and am ready to build a custom box.

Thanks in advance! 

"Mopar to ya!"
Phreak480 
Copper - Posts: 84
Copper spacespace
Joined: June 12, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: May 20, 2011 at 12:28 AM / IP Logged  
why not just fiberglass a box to use the maximum amount of space?
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 19, 2003
Location: Michigan, Bouvet Island
Posted: August 12, 2013 at 4:11 PM / IP Logged  
Ummm...
1: Safety.
2: Handling.
C: Noise.
The bracing in a car's chassis is there for a reason. Safety being the biggest reason, but handling can be impaired with additional body flex if they're removed, road noise can be greater due to the reduced stiffness in the panels...
Generally speaking, probably a bad idea, overall. I would avoid removing any braces. Build AROUND them, and stuff the cabinet to regain (up to about 10%) the missing volume you desire.
It all reminds me of something that Molière once said to Guy de Maupassant at a café in Vienna: "That's nice. You should write it down."
KPierson 
Platinum - Posts: 3,527
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: April 14, 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: August 12, 2013 at 11:51 PM / IP Logged  
After two years I'm guessing he either figured it out or went another direction. Silly newbies bumping old threads.....    :D
Kevin Pierson
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Joined: November 03, 2008
Location: Australia
Posted: August 13, 2013 at 4:12 AM / IP Logged  
x2.
Tho the last newb showed me up (tortuousaugur in led rocker to toggle a fuse? - I didn't think of a 9V batt or other independent source did I?).

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, May 18, 2024 • Copyright © 1999-2024 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer