icon

alternator voltage regulator

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
imtheman0313 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Posted: May 23, 2011 at 1:13 PM / IP Logged  
I have been searching and searching for weeks, and I cannot find a schematic. Pcb location and size is not a major problem, but function is. I need a voltage regulator for my alternator, my goal being to plug in the existing harness on the vehicle (I have an old regulator I can use for this, but the internals are bad, and I cannot remove the dernd silicone) and have a backup alt for use when I don't have a really good one. I want to make the regulator so the output voltage sits at 14.6-15v. My existing regulator, in the vehicle now, keeps the voltage at 14.2, which is a little low for my tastes. My preferred voltage is 14.7~14.8 (allowing for fluctuation of course) I am by no means an electronics expert, but I do have some rudimentary skills, and am still learning. If someone could find a schematic and/or data sheet with this circuit already built, and what to change to adjust it the way I need, that would be wonderful. Or a link to a company that builds custom regulators/alternators would be helpful.
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: May 23, 2011 at 3:17 PM / IP Logged  
If it is not a single wire (D+) alternator, just add a diode in series with the S (Sense) input.
Any diode should do if it is a true Sense (ie, 50mA max).
If its sensing is thru its Ignition terminal, then maybe a heavy diode (5A or more).
And getting inside a D+ type to do the same is easier than building a regulator. The D+ type connects its Sense to its output (B, B+).
BTW - the diode adds (say) ~0.6V to the alternator output.
And please don't cook your battery.
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: May 24, 2011 at 3:27 AM / IP Logged  
Constant voltage level you require will burn out (filament) lighting bulbs within a few weeks.
oldspark 
Gold spacespace