icon

2001 toyota camry 4 cyl base load?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jantman 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: July 31, 2011 at 9:11 AM / IP Logged  
I'm a volunteer EMT, and just purchased a 2001 Toyota Camry as my commuter. I need to add lights, siren, and 2-way radio to the car. It has the stock alternator, which (I believe) is 80A.
I'm fairly particular about my installs (spent some time doing ambulance wiring for a few towns)... I was wondering if anyone has information on the base/stock electrical load on this car?
I'm assuming, looking at the wiring diagrams and fuse sizes, that the 80A alternator doesn't have a whole lot of reserve capacity. But I'd like some actual numbers to back that up. I no longer have a DC clamp ammeter (haven't done installs for money in a while), and would like to avoid having to borrow one and then go through the turn on accessory, check ammeter cycle in the car (especially since nobody I know would have an ammeter that can do true RMS inside an engine compartment).
Any advice/information would be helpful and most appreciated.
Thanks,
Jason
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: July 31, 2011 at 9:44 AM / IP Logged  
Usually voltage is used. If it drops below 14.4V or 13.8V etc...
Current tells little - other than for dimensioning. But then mere DC current measurement is adequate. I'd use a $13 50A shunt ( here) and an ordinary DMM. (I use those to measure 250A starter motors.)
Just measuring at idle or 1500 RPM should be an adequate "base load".
Things like main lighting and audio can be calculated and added, but parking lights are worth measuring, and fans, and aircon etc - ok - everything except headlights.
I'd probably assume a base of 20A otherwise....
(Alternators are sized for headlights with wipers and stop lights and...)
jantman 
Member spacespace
Posted: July 31, 2011 at 5:22 PM / IP Logged