icon

looking for head unit/speaker suggestions

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
rambo609 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: October 04, 2011 at 12:04 PM / IP Logged  
I will soon be getting a 2001 toyota highlander with a broken head unit and thoroughly mediocre stock speakers, so I am looking around for viable replacements.
I am a broke college student, so I would like to keep it as low cost as possible, but I drive a lot and good sounding audio is very important to me. I have a 4 channel amplifier (Kenwood KAC-X40) and a 500W mono amp with subwoofer (Kenwood but no model numbers at the moment, though they are about 3 years old at this point) in my current vehicle, which I will be moving over.
Unfortunately, all my current speakers are different dimensions and my current head unit has enough flaws that I would like a replacement. Therefore, I turn to wisdom of the masses to see what the most viable option might be.
Here is a list of my general requirements for a head unit:
1) 6RCA outputs (Front, rear, and subwoofer), but I am not particular about output levels. My amp will take anything from 2-4V pretty well for sure, and I would expect it could handle a wider range with ease.
2) Bluetooth capability for both phone calls and streaming music, preferably capable of multiple devices easily, includes a microphone with good call quality. Must support Android phones, as my research has led me to believe that most are designed for iPhones and have less compatibility with Android phones.
3) Ideally I would like 2xUSB and 1x3.5mm inputs, with one USB in back for my iPod Touch and the other two in front, however I am not completely set on that. I do require at least 1xUSB and 1x3.5mm though.
4) The ability to control a connected iPod either through the head unit itself, or from the iPod while still connected. I got my current head unit just before this feature became commonplace and it is the biggest reason I will not be keeping it.