the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

07 trailblazer tach wire


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
groundzero2010 
Member - Posts: 46
Member spacespace
Joined: September 15, 2006
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: October 08, 2011 at 11:01 AM / IP Logged  
I've done a little research and can't seem to find exactly where this tach wire is located. I've taken a few pictures of the plugs I'm assuming it is suppose to be in but haven't found a wire that tests out as a tach signal. According to most of the tech diagrams it is in a blug plug at the PCM, pin number 49. Says the PCM is on the drivers side of the motor.
The pictures I've uploaded are the modules on the drivers side of the motor, however the initial blug plug I found is only a 48 pin harness, 4rows x 12 columns. There were two white wires in this bunch I tested just to be sure and nothing came out as a tach signal.
There is a bigger module that I believe is the actual vehicle computer, but it has 3 harnesses plugged into it, all have black handles, but if I look really close, there is a harness that has a blug strip right at the base of where it plugs in at. I found a couple white wires in that one harness but again they don't test as tach wires.
Any thoughts? I'm to the frustrated point now. I'm installing a viper 5901 in a 2007 Chevy Trailblazer SS and it remote starts fine when in virtual tach or voltage sense mode, but after about 15 seconds the engine shutsdown and cycles through this 3 times before shutting off. I checked the remote start shutdown history and its saying its shutting down due to low voltage. Everything is testing at 12V or higher even during start and after start. I figured I'd try finding the tach wire and going with a tach signal since that is the most accurate way to do it. Now if I could only find that tach wire!
groundzero2010 
Member - Posts: 46
Member spacespace
Joined: September 15, 2006
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: October 08, 2011 at 11:06 AM / IP Logged  
dasbogie 
Silver - Posts: 514
Silver spacespace
Joined: September 30, 2006
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: October 08, 2011 at 12:18 PM / IP Logged  
pull the gauge cluster, it's the only white wire there
Advanced
groundzero2010 
Member - Posts: 46
Member spacespace
Joined: September 15, 2006
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: October 08, 2011 at 12:29 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks for the info. Unfortunately I already tapped onto the fuel injector wire. I'll be taking the dash apart to hookup my stereo turn-on and I'll check for the white wire you're talking about. I'd rather get the tach inside that cab than have another wire under the hood. Thanks again for the tip!
groundzero2010 
Member - Posts: 46
Member spacespace
Joined: September 15, 2006
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: October 08, 2011 at 12:38 PM / IP Logged  
If anyone cares to know where I attached my tach wire here are some photos. If you look for the 2 wire injector connector one of the wires has tach signal. Usually if you look at multiple tach connectors the wires usually have one of the same color and one that is different from the other injectors. The different color wire usually holds the tach signal.
Photo Link
v7guy 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Joined: January 20, 2009
Posted: October 08, 2011 at 7:02 PM / IP Logged  
I grabbed the white wire at the cluster as well, lots of room to connect it
buddholly 
Copper - Posts: 244
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 24, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: October 12, 2011 at 4:28 PM / IP Logged  
groundzero2010 wrote:
Everything is testing at 12V or higher even during start and after start. I figured I'd try finding the tach wire and going with a tach signal since that is the most accurate way to do it. Now if I could only find that tach wire!
When you test a tach wire, your meter needs to be set to AC volts not DC volts. It should test around 2-4 volts and fluctuate when you rev the engine.
groundzero2010 
Member - Posts: 46
Member spacespace
Joined: September 15, 2006
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: October 12, 2011 at 5:01 PM / IP Logged  

I'm aware tach is AC, I was merely refering to the issue of having the remote start shutdown and giving a shutdown history of the system having a low voltage. I tested the 12V wires at each point during remote start to see if the voltage was really dropping low. It wasn't in  my case. Still not sure why it was shutting down, but I have the remote start working great now that I've picked up tach signal at the fuel injectors.

kgerry 
Platinum - Posts: 3,455
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: February 07, 2004
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posted: October 12, 2011 at 5:06 PM / IP Logged  
did you hook up 2nd Acc?  you have to on the 05-up TB's.....
Kevin Gerry
Certified Electronics Technician
MECP First Class Installer
Owner/Installer
Classic Car Audio
since 1979
groundzero2010 
Member - Posts: 46
Member spacespace
Joined: September 15, 2006
Location: Arkansas, United States
Posted: October 13, 2011 at 7:49 AM / IP Logged  

kgerry wrote:
did you hook up 2nd Acc?  you have to on the 05-up TB's.....

What doesn't work if you don't hook up 2nd Accessory?


Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, January 28, 2023 • Copyright © 1999-2023 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer