led strips in parellel with diagram

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
2005saturnion3 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: January 03, 2012 at 10:30 PM / IP Logged  

2005 saturn ion 3

I am installing 2 blue LED strips and a switch to control them. I intend to run their power supply off of the 12v plug in my center console. I am by no means an experienced electrician/technician so i put together a little diagram (attached below). I am just wondering if the circuit I created will run effectively and run all of the LED's at the same brightness. Thanks in advance for any reply's!

Nick

led strips in parellel with diagram - Last Post -- posted image.

the spaceship
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: January 04, 2012 at 3:07 AM / IP Logged  
That looks fine. No fuse - the cig socket has one but maybe a smaller fuse to protect the wiring (if the wire is rated less than the cig socket fuse).
Both strings/strips have the same voltage so the brightness should be the same.   
2005saturnion3 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 04, 2012 at 11:56 PM / IP Logged  

would you recommend putting a fuse somewhere in the circuit? if so, what size fuse?

the spaceship
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: January 05, 2012 at 2:35 AM / IP Logged  
The fusing is to protect the downstream wires (to the next fuse). [The LEDs themselves can't be fused - well, generally not for any practical purpose.]
IE - if a +12V wire shorts to GND, the fuse should blow before the wire get too hot and either burns your car down or kills you with insulation etc fumes.
If you car's cig lighter fuse is 15A, then it will have wire rated for at least 15A. Same if 10A (ie, at least 10A wire).
If it's 10A and you use 10A or greater cable/wire to the LEDs, then the 10A cig fuse protects it.