icon

wiring ten 10 subs to amp/amps.

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
gcosse05 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2012 at 12:52 AM / IP Logged  
Hey guys, newbie here. Graduate of IIT audio in Orlando. M.E.C.P certified. I feel stupid for needing help with this but im about to throw something at my dog if i dont get this right. i guess with so many subs, its getting to me. I am installing TEN 10" 4ohm DVC RE audio subs in a Nissan Titan.Im gonna break it down like this... Gonna have 2 banks of subs, 5 on each bank... each bank will be wired by connecting the two voice coils of each driver in series (+to-) and the drivers themselves in paralell (+to+). Which in turn will result in 1.6ohm on each bank. Now, when i connect the 2 banks together at the amplifier, is my impedance going to go in half to 0.65ohm? or will it double to 3.2? RE audio told me wiring them like that it will make the iimpedance double, which is what i want, but i just cant see it happening!!! Do I have the right idea? Am I doing this wrong? Options for amps are still open too. I can use 2 amps, or just 1 big one. Whatever is gonna help me get a nice ohm load at the amp/amps. any help would be apprecieated guys. Plz let me know whatever ur thinking about this. Thanks alot in advance.
haemphyst 
Platinum - Posts: 5,054
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2012 at 2:54 AM / IP Logged  
Well... To start, half of 1.6 is .8, not .65...