icon

avital 4113lx 2005 jeep liberty

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
lucidsoul5 
Member - Posts: 1
Member spacespace
Posted: March 03, 2012 at 3:09 PM / IP Logged  
Hi, I am new to this forum. I am a novice mechanic and PC technician for a living. I want to install a remote start. I know there are complications with bypasses are needed to get around the anti theft on most cars. Since this is my first time attempting this, can someone look at this system I found and tell me what they think. Avital 4113LX
http://www.slickcar.com/bypassvag.asp
If it is good or bad or even a different system for beginners. I have changed my radiator and heater core before so I think I can handle this but I want to make sure first. Please help.
fred lauten
Twelvoltz 
Platinum - Posts: 2,384
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: March 03, 2012 at 4:03 PM / IP Logged  
I use those systems all of the time. Solid and reliable but don't play well with D2D installations. You probably don't need a transponder bypass and being an 05 you don't need to worry about any MUX circuits for ignition/accessory/accessory. What color is the head of the key on your Liberty? If it is black there is no transponder, if it is grey or tan it does. I just did one last weekend and it did not have a transponder, nor did it have any type of factory theft content system (no factory alarm). I believe only the transponder equipped Liberty's came with factory alarm. Factory remote works when the vehicle is running too so you shouldn't have to concern yourself with keyless.
You would only need the 4113, one relay and a 910ohm resistor(for parking lights). Or you could just use the hazard lights without the need for a relay and resistor.