the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

harley garage door opener and hid


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tcnbham 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Joined: April 14, 2012
Location: Alabama, United States
Posted: April 14, 2012 at 10:23 AM / IP Logged  

I have a problem that has me stumped.  I've installed an HID Low Beam on my Road Glide (two headlamps, side by side) and now my garage door opener that came on the bike will not transmit a signal to the receiver that also comes with this bike.  The Harley recever is just plugged into an outlet and the two wires interrupt the signal just like pushing the button.  All that works fine.  When the HID ballast/ignitor is NOT in the loop, the GDO transmitter works fine.  Without the HID's in the system I have the following input to the transmitter on the bike:  Orange wire: 12.5 volts; Black wire: Ground; White Wire: 12.5 V when High Beam switch is activated, then 0 V when switche to low beam; Yellow Wire: 12.5 V when on Low Beam and 0 V when switched to High Beam.

Attached is a wiring diagram of the factory harness.

When the HID's are plugged into the system, the GDO will not operated because the transmitter is not getting the proper signal from the High/Low Beam switch.  Both the White wire and the Yellow wire, when the switch is rocked, never go to 0 V but instead have approximately 1.5 V, so the transmitter never "sees" the switching and sends the pulse to the receiver.  To open the door, you go Low/High/Low or High/Low/High...either will work.

Why is there residual voltage on the wires of 1.5V just because of the HID's?  The stock bulb for each headlamp is an H4 bulb that is both high and low beam.  The HID bulbs are HID for Low Beam and a seperate High Beam bulb (not HID).  Don't really need High Beams with the HID Low Beam...it provides plenty of light on low beam (6000K light).  The high beam is just the regular "yellow" light.

harley garage door opener and hid - Last Post -- posted image.

tcnbham 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Joined: April 14, 2012
Location: Alabama, United States
Posted: April 14, 2012 at 10:36 AM / IP Logged  
Sorry...don't seem to be able to load the wiring diagram picture...
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,623
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: April 14, 2012 at 10:21 PM / IP Logged  

Do you have room for 2 relays?  A relay will not energize with 1.5 volts.  If you have the room, I can draw you a diagram.


Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, June 9, 2023 • Copyright © 1999-2023 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer