the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

dealerships not liking aftermarket alarms?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
alexp1289 
Copper - Posts: 96
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 28, 2012 at 6:24 PM / IP Logged  
I wanted to ask you guys about your thoughts on dealerships not liking aftermarket alarms and accessories. I have an uncle who is a dealership mechanic and he has nothing but bad things to say about remote starts and accessories and I really don't get why. I thought this would just be a good conversation :-)
chev104275 
Gold - Posts: 1,427
Gold spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: September 28, 2012 at 6:31 PM / IP Logged  
For me it depends highly on the install. I'm a dealership mechanic as well as an installer. I've had some vehicles with hack installs that come in and I had to fix. Some were better off just being removed
If i Can't Install it    I Don't need it   Joe
KPierson 
Platinum - Posts: 3,527
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: September 28, 2012 at 8:22 PM / IP Logged  
I've had a remote start on almost every car I've owned since I was 17. Typically, once they are installed I never have to touch them again. I did have a Viper 550ESP that burnt up for no apparent reason years ago, but other then that I have had zero issues with the vehicles.
My only major problem is the junk remotes that DEI has now. I have to replace the remote every 4-6 months because they don't hold up.
Kevin Pierson
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,783
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace