icon

2005 a6 4.2 dball python 414 rs

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
johnny t 
Member - Posts: 17
Member spacespace
Posted: December 27, 2012 at 9:12 AM / IP Logged  
Hello. I’m a long time researcher, newly registered first time poster. Wondering if anyone has any insight?
The car: 2005 Audi A6 4.2 with electronic ignition, vehicle battery is good.
The product: Dball, Python 414/4x04. Have tried 2 different Dball and Python units.
The problem:
In D2D mode, the car works flawlessly. Lock, unlock, arm, disarm, trunk pop, hood detect, brake detect, everything is fine. Remote start works perfectly 90% of the time. Set to run 24 mins, it runs 24 mins. The issue is that 10% of the time it will not remain running. A more detailed description of what the car does is described below:
1. Press remote start button
2. Ignition powers up, lights on, factory alarm disarms as doors unlock
3. 4-5 second delay, then car starts, runs for 3 secs, then shuts off
4. Starts again and shuts off imediatley
5. Starts a third time, runs for 3 secs, then shuts off
6. Lights turn off, doors relock, factory alarm rearms, electronic ignition DOES NOT relock.
Sleuth work:
Shutdown diagnostics says “3 blinks - low or no tach, 5 blinks - brake shutdown.” I have gone thru all wiring as per the instructions and tech sheet over and over again. Everything testable has been tested and verified working with my DMM. All ground wires grounded securely to bare metal in the kick panel. All wiring soldered and verified intact with point to point testing. Nothing is loose. Immobilizer bypass works perfectly but eliminated from the equation by using the key in cylinder instead of the bypass, problem still occurred.
Tried using the following tips provided by members here from the other 2005+ A6 threads:
Tried firmware download with IE from both the US and European xpresskit site, same problem.
Tried using a relay on the status wire for immobilzer bypass, same problem.