icon

passive crossover mounting locations

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
pv13 
Copper - Posts: 155
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2013 at 3:17 AM / IP Logged  
I am planning to install two sets of polk audio's dxi 6500 component speakers in my cousin's 2002 Volkswagen Jetta this weekend, and I am wondering where I should mount the passive crossovers. The factory speakers and tweeters are all located in the doors.So....
Should I mount them in the doors? If so, should I use bolts or velco/double sided tape?
Would under the dash or behind the kickpanels work?
If the door panels are not recommended, where should I mount the crossovers for the rear door speakers?
This is my first time installing components, so I just want to make sure I do it right the first time.
Thanks
soundnsecurity 
Gold - Posts: 2,711
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2013 at 9:09 AM / IP Logged  
mount the crossovers anywhere you want as long as they dont get wet. i try to think about how easy it will be to run the wires to the crossover and that usually wins the debate on where to mount the crossovers.
pv13 
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2013 at 8:28 PM / IP Logged  
Thank you for the reply,
The easiest place would be the doors, but is that the best place? I live in Western Washington, so unfortunately, moisture will always be an issue, but I am also concerned with mounting them to a surface (doors) that is continually being opened and closed. If I did mount them there, what is the best method?
If I decided to secure the crossovers behind the kick panels instead, would the signal wires from the passive crossovers interfere with various power wires to introduce noise into the system?
Thanks
soundnsecurity 
Gold - Posts: 2,711
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 18, 2013 at 12:43 PM / IP Logged