icon

van camp, thermostat controled start

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
allaire 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Posted: March 05, 2013 at 10:57 AM / IP Logged  

Hi, I'm a contract disaster inspector for FEMA. I spend more nights than I care to admit sleeping in a vehical at disaster sites. I use to use my Prius and but for its size it was great, I could park it and leave it running with the climate control set and they car would cycle the engine on and off as needed would keep me cool or warm all night and use littke fuel doing so.

I needed more room so I've converted a 2002 Chevy awd Astro passenger van with rear air and heat into my deployment vehical. I want to set it up so while I'm overnighting in it a themostat I install in the vehical will trigger the engine to start and run till the cabin reaches the desired temp then shuts off.
The van dose not have climate control but thats OK as I can either have the vans heat or AC in the on position when I turn it off to go to sleep, then the thermostat would signal the van to start and stop the engine.
I'm thinking this could be done quite straight foward by using relays to trigger the starter with the key in the on position. I have no problem leaving the keys in the ignition while in the van overnight but I'm conserned leaving the ignition system and the fuel pump energized all this time.
Although Im not an alarm installer I'm pretty handy and I managed Audiovox owned retail stores back in the '90s where we installed Audiovox Prestige alarms and cell phones.
Up for sudgestions how to do this and what would be required, any Ideals????  AND YES I have a CO alarm installed.

offroadzj 
Gold - Posts: 2,043
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: March 05, 2013 at 11:10 AM / IP Logged