icon

relays; general info

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: March 11, 2013 at 2:10 PM / IP Logged  
Both very good points but I blew an alarm aux for not doing that so from a practical point of view the diodes are mandatory.
I've already had a "what should I do" post about 6 months ago, the fool didn't bother with diodes and blew his (low current) lock/unlocks AND all his aux outputs.
It would be nice if the alarm manufacturers bothered to diode the aux and lock/unlocks internally.
I haven't applied much theory which I'm not that good at it's more practical info.
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: March 11, 2013 at 4:55 PM / IP Logged  
howie ll wrote:
It would be nice if the alarm manufacturers bothered to diode the aux and lock/unlocks internally.
And ain't that the issue? If a device is reasonably expected to be interfaced to a realay, shouldn't it come protected for that relay (coil)?
Now that's an interesting test for our Consumer Laws LOL. But if specified to connect to diode or spike protected relays, and since they are a commercial offering... (BTW - do those resistor-snubbed relays always prevent damage to circuits?)
I have always included protection in my designs, and I've just discussed the same over at mp3car for a dude that's interfacing an Arduino to an Audi (instead lieu of his messed up OEM dash). There its the 2 reverse-biased diodes (else one Zener) from each of the rails (+ & gnd) to the input.   
And people here know my dislike for diode (and resistor etc) protected diodes, instead preferring to supply that (snubber) component myself - even in the relay base or connectors if it's not part of the existing circuit.
But Howard was definitely right including the protection diode in his OP. (We certainly didn't mean to suggest otherwise.)