the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2007 bmw e90 radio upgrade


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
still_walkin 
Silver - Posts: 644
Silver spacespace
Joined: April 18, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: March 13, 2013 at 10:32 PM / IP Logged  
So my friend has a BMW all stock and he added a jl 4 channel amp and a jl 1 channel for a 12 sub now the problem I s the shop amp only half the interior speakers and he wants the sound louder when the car is in the acc position only the rear doors and front dash center speaker but when the car is on all speakers work all five of them. The car has a factory amp so I'm thinking the installer spliced the other speakers. Before the amp to the other four speakers . My first thought is the speakers are factory and the wires are factory so amp the rear speakers but amped factory speakers on factory wires is a waste of Time. So it looks likehe ran some kind of lineout clnvertor from the amp harness. What are your suggestionsto do this install better
1993 sdv
Alpine 4x6 6x9 5 1/4 swr-10d4
alpine v60
12.5 VGA flip down
Nettop pc w/10" touch screen
78nova
5-re audio 5x7 ,10" sub &
Xtx-500.5
"Take the faceplate off get the jumperpack"
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Joined: November 03, 2008
Location: Australia
Posted: March 13, 2013 at 10:35 PM / IP Logged  
Sure it isn't a simple case of the other amp being powered from IGN rather than ACC?
still_walkin 
Silver - Posts: 644
Silver spacespace
Joined: April 18, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: March 13, 2013 at 11:23 PM / IP Logged  
That's what I was thinking but he wants all the speakers to be powered by the 4 channel jl and the old one out the loop.
1993 sdv
Alpine 4x6 6x9 5 1/4 swr-10d4
alpine v60
12.5 VGA flip down
Nettop pc w/10" touch screen
78nova
5-re audio 5x7 ,10" sub &
Xtx-500.5
"Take the faceplate off get the jumperpack"
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Joined: November 03, 2008
Location: Australia
Posted: March 14, 2013 at 12:07 AM / IP Logged  
I presume that's all the time - ie, it is NOT to be the old or fronts with ACC on, and the new or all speakers with IGN? (I have troubles understanding your OP.)
If so it's IMO merely a case of removing the orig OEM amp (hoping it predates CAN & security etc) and rigging all required speakers with due regard to their and the amp impedances.
Whether new speaker wires are required - if the existing sound (volume) is ok, then leave them. Only if they are of significant resistance (when operating, ie of sufficient gauge safety wise) or subject to noise would they require bypassing.
And powering is up to the customer - whether from ACC or thru a relay (from the battery) energised by ACC. (Add 2 diodes and IGN if cranking dropout is undesirable.)
FYI - As you may know, my audio has always been powered direct from the battery for clean and "anytime" listening - but I have to remember to turn it off manually. Noting too that nowadays the IGN input may need interrupting to prevent battery drain - eg, my newish Alpine's drain is ~140mA when off but both both CONSTant and IGN connected, hence now a relay in the CONST to IGN link which is initially made/energised by IGN+12V (else ACC). If the Alpine is on, that relay remains closed irrespective of its IGN (or ACC) input - ie, I've used my self-latching relay circuit. Again, I need to manually turn it off (at least until I modify so I can select IGN control or fully bypassed).
still_walkin 
Silver - Posts: 644
Silver spacespace
Joined: April 18, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: March 14, 2013 at 12:31 AM / IP Logged  
What I'm saying is he has door speakers and center dash when the CaR is in acc the rear speakers and center dash only work .when the caris on they all work. He basically wants all the speakers on the new amp and the old one out the loop. But my suggestion is to get new speakers and new wires because u have an aftermarket amp and stock speakers and wires
1993 sdv
Alpine 4x6 6x9 5 1/4 swr-10d4
alpine v60
12.5 VGA flip down
Nettop pc w/10" touch screen
78nova
5-re audio 5x7 ,10" sub &
Xtx-500.5
"Take the faceplate off get the jumperpack"
soundnsecurity 
Gold - Posts: 2,705
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: November 10, 2008
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: March 14, 2013 at 8:43 AM / IP Logged  
oldspark is right, your friend had two amps, factory and aftermarket, powered through different power sources. if you just want all speakers to play in accessory then you need to move the remote turn on wire from the aftermarket amp and run it to the accessory wire of the car instead of an ignition source where it most likely is now.
as far as putting all speakers on the after market amp. you are going into strange territory. you will still need to use the factory amp as the signal generator for the aftermarket amp through multiple line output converters, you need to make sure that each speaker still keeps its same original signal because all speakers are filtered by the factory amp so that they only play the frequencies they are designed to handle. if you mix signals then you risk blowing the factory speakers or at least having them sound horrible.
my suggestion would be buying an integration processor like a JL cleansweep and using that to get a proper signal to your amps
still_walkin 
Silver - Posts: 644
Silver spacespace
Joined: April 18, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: March 14, 2013 at 8:47 AM / IP Logged  
I heard those processors are expensive. Wouldn't it be a cheaper but harder option to swap the speakers out. With aftermarket
1993 sdv
Alpine 4x6 6x9 5 1/4 swr-10d4
alpine v60
12.5 VGA flip down
Nettop pc w/10" touch screen
78nova
5-re audio 5x7 ,10" sub &
Xtx-500.5
"Take the faceplate off get the jumperpack"
soundnsecurity 
Gold - Posts: 2,705
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: November 10, 2008
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: March 15, 2013 at 6:13 AM / IP Logged  
what would swapping the speakers do? the speakers dont play because they arent being powered... plus you cant get away from using the factory amp as the signal source for the aftermarket amp. the factory radio cant be changed due to the fiber optic network that runs through the car and HU. if you change anything except the speakers that you will cut on probably multiple trouble lights.
you can change the speakers but that wont solve your problem because you wont find any full range outputs at the factory amp to feed to the aftermarket amp, every output is filtered for its specific speaker it powers, this is why i recommend a processor because it will take those filtered signals and put them together for you to make a full range signal and then you will be able to do whatever you want with the speakers successfully. if you just replace the speakers with full range speakers you will be wasting most of the range of each speaker because it will still only play a select frequency range depending on which output from the factory amp it is being fed from.
still_walkin 
Silver - Posts: 644
Silver spacespace
Joined: April 18, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: March 15, 2013 at 6:36 AM / IP Logged  

soundnsecurity wrote:
what would swapping the speakers do? the speakers dont play because they arent being powered... plus you cant get away from using the factory amp as the signal source for the aftermarket amp. the factory radio cant be changed due to the fiber optic network that runs through the car and HU. if you change anything except the speakers that you will cut on probably multiple trouble lights.
you can change the speakers but that wont solve your problem because you wont find any full range outputs at the factory amp to feed to the aftermarket amp, every output is filtered for its specific speaker it powers, this is why i recommend a processor because it will take those filtered signals and put them together for you to make a full range signal and then you will be able to do whatever you want with the speakers successfully. if you just replace the speakers with full range speakers you will be wasting most of the range of each speaker because it will still only play a select frequency range depending on which output from the factory amp it is being fed from.
+

i know you cant replace the radio becuase the newer cars they wire the radio into the security systems.  my suggestion by replacing the speakers was to rewire the whole system from the HU  and back and isolating the factory amp . they arelready to my knowlege installed some kind of multi channel invertor than converts the speaker wires from the  facotry amp to the inverter which outputs to an set of wires which feeds to the amp .

1993 sdv
Alpine 4x6 6x9 5 1/4 swr-10d4
alpine v60
12.5 VGA flip down
Nettop pc w/10" touch screen
78nova
5-re audio 5x7 ,10" sub &
Xtx-500.5
"Take the faceplate off get the jumperpack"
soundnsecurity 
Gold - Posts: 2,705
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: November 10, 2008
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: March 15, 2013 at 11:05 PM / IP Logged  
no you cant rewire just from the head unit. it communicates directly with the amp through a fiber optic data line. the same fiber optic line that runs through the whole car and lets everything talk to everything else. if you break any part of the fiber optic loop you will make the car send trouble codes and certain things might not work right.
you must get the signal from the factory amp's outputs, to my knowledge its the only way to upgrade the sound in a BMW, mercedes, high end lexus, etc.
if you look around there might be an interface that uses the fiber optics in your car, i know certain cars have interfaces availiable to add accessory inputs like a USB onto the stock radio through the fiber optic channels, Dension is one such brand that i know of but there might be others that have started up more recently.
these interfaces are expensive, much more than a cleansweep or other such processor that uses the factory amps outputs to generate a full signal.
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Thursday, September 29, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer