icon

automate am5 to am6

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
shhnappa 
Member - Posts: 23
Member spacespace
Posted: March 30, 2013 at 11:29 AM / IP Logged  
Hi all, long time member, I'm a electrician, and an A Technician at a GM dealer and have a question. I recently inherited a 2005 Toyota Camry base, base model from a recently deceased Brother-in-law. The car has an Automate AM5 system installed and working fine. It is nothing more than a starter disable and keyless entry. I would like to add a remote start to this and was told I could from tech support at DEI, but they would not give me any other info. I have access to a recently removed fully functioning Automate AM6 system which has remote start and the same existing features as my AM5 system. Can you tell me if this can be retrofitted, is it as simple as wiring up the remote module? Any help you could provide would be great. Thanks in advance for your help!
shhnappa 
Member spacespace
Posted: March 30, 2013 at 3:07 PM / IP Logged  
Anyone???
Mike M2 
Platinum - Posts: 2,652
Platinum spacespace
Posted: March 30, 2013 at 3:26 PM / IP Logged  
pretty much yes. You will need an extra relay for the second starter as i don't think the AM6 has a flex relay. I believe that only the V6 Camry that year had an immobilizer so you should be ok there. You can be sure by looking next to the climate controls for a red security light that would blink when the key is off. If it doesn't exist you are good to go...
Mike M2
Tech Manager
CS Dealer Services
shhnappa 
Member spacespace
Posted: March 30, 2013 at 10:47 PM / IP Logged  

Mike,

Thank you so much, anyone else want to throw there years of knowledge in here?

shhnappa 
Member spacespace
Posted: March 31, 2013 at 6:53 PM / IP Logged  
Bump...
beegbie 
Copper - Posts: 341
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 01, 2013 at 6:31 PM / IP Logged