the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

re audio ctx32001 amp


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
still_walkin 
Silver - Posts: 644
Silver spacespace
Joined: April 18, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: May 09, 2013 at 6:25 AM / IP Logged  

i was checking out this amp and i noticed that it has two power and ground inputs.. has anyone every seen a amp that needs this kind of power. would you wire it up off two distro blocks from the same 12v source or thats a waste any thoughts post your suggestions

http://www./itm/RE-Audio-CTX32001-3200W-CTX-Series-Class-DE-Monoblock-Car-Amplifier-Amp-/290910551244?pt=Car_Amplifiers&hash=item43bb9ebccc&vxp=mtr#ht_2053wt_1170

1993 sdv
Alpine 4x6 6x9 5 1/4 swr-10d4
alpine v60
12.5 VGA flip down
Nettop pc w/10" touch screen
78nova
5-re audio 5x7 ,10" sub &
Xtx-500.5
"Take the faceplate off get the jumperpack"
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Joined: November 03, 2008
Location: Australia
Posted: May 09, 2013 at 7:46 AM / IP Logged  
They split one big terminal into 2 smaller ones for size & cable etc reasons. It is not a dual-supply situation - the terminals are connected together in the amp.
still_walkin 
Silver - Posts: 644
Silver spacespace
Joined: April 18, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: May 09, 2013 at 7:50 AM / IP Logged  
So your saying the dual power sources is over kill or based on the specs its needed to power this amp
1993 sdv
Alpine 4x6 6x9 5 1/4 swr-10d4
alpine v60
12.5 VGA flip down
Nettop pc w/10" touch screen
78nova
5-re audio 5x7 ,10" sub &
Xtx-500.5
"Take the faceplate off get the jumperpack"
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Joined: November 03, 2008
Location: Australia
Posted: May 09, 2013 at 8:03 AM / IP Logged  
Unless it is a dual supply input, a dual power source is pointless.
In fact it will be more unreliable unless EACH source can handle the required power.
still_walkin 
Silver - Posts: 644
Silver spacespace
Joined: April 18, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: May 09, 2013 at 8:15 AM / IP Logged  
That's what I was thinking about the dual supply input .
1993 sdv
Alpine 4x6 6x9 5 1/4 swr-10d4
alpine v60
12.5 VGA flip down
Nettop pc w/10" touch screen
78nova
5-re audio 5x7 ,10" sub &
Xtx-500.5
"Take the faceplate off get the jumperpack"
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Joined: November 03, 2008
Location: Australia
Posted: May 09, 2013 at 9:59 AM / IP Logged  
I can't see the need for a dual (redundant) supply for amps - they are not telco equipment.
And the cost involved - for something that rarely occurs...
It'll probably be like the Kicker I dismantled - parallel terminals onto a common PCB track - merely to make connection easier or maybe a redundant terminal for half the cable voltage drop. But not a "dual" supply - merely dual feeds.
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,740
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: May 09, 2013 at 10:23 AM / IP Logged  
Dual power inputs? Not according to this picture:
Photo from RE Audio
Support the12volt.com
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Joined: November 03, 2008
Location: Australia
Posted: May 09, 2013 at 10:55 AM / IP Logged  
And that's only 90A - NBD (no big deal).
still_walkin 
Silver - Posts: 644
Silver spacespace
Joined: April 18, 2007
Location: California, United States
Posted: May 09, 2013 at 2:35 PM / IP Logged  
That's the point I'm getting at . I'm thinking dual inputs is this really necessary or its one of thosd things or angles some companies use to sell there equipment. At first I'm thinking that would look cool under a amp rack with 4 giant wires running to it but then I go . 12v is 12v unless it was from two different sources . So I decided to ask . Ultimately I might just email the company and ask
1993 sdv
Alpine 4x6 6x9 5 1/4 swr-10d4
alpine v60
12.5 VGA flip down
Nettop pc w/10" touch screen
78nova
5-re audio 5x7 ,10" sub &
Xtx-500.5
"Take the faceplate off get the jumperpack"
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,740
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: May 09, 2013 at 5:01 PM / IP Logged  
still_walkin wrote:
That's the point I'm getting at . I'm thinking dual inputs is this really necessary or its one of thosd things or angles some companies use to sell there equipment. At first I'm thinking that would look cool under a amp rack with 4 giant wires running to it but then I go . 12v is 12v unless it was from two different sources . So I decided to ask . Ultimately I might just email the company and ask
The only possible purpose of "dual inputs" would be to use two smaller gauge cables to achieve the current carrying capacity of a larger gauge. There is no other purpose in a 12V system. That being said, the amp you mention in the title has ONE input, according to the photo from RE.
Support the12volt.com
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, November 27, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer