icon

head unit madness

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dreamcrusher 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: October 06, 2013 at 2:56 PM / IP Logged  
Hello lovely people, I've been installing 12V and home automation for many years although never sought MECP certification. I've done high end homes and vehicles for Phoenix Suns and Arizona Cardinals players. I've used this forum in the past for assistance and now is a good time to get involved!
My issue for today- my boat.
The equipment: I have a 1994 Four Winns Freedom with 100% aftermarket audio which includes (2) Kicker 8" subs, Dual MXCP43 h/u (ugh I know), Sony XM-604M amplifier, (2) MTXTM7702 7.7" speakers and (2) Kenwood 5.25" speaker
The configuration: the entire audio system runs off an isolated, high capacity, deep cycle battery, the Sony amp drives the subwoofers and MTX tower speakers in 3-channel configuration, the subs are 8 ohm, wired in parallel and bridged on the amp's rear output for a 4 ohm load, the MTX speakers are 4 ohm and are wired to the front L and R channels respectively, the h/u only offers a single rear low level output (2 volt) which is split to feed the 2 amplifier inputs, the amp crossovers are set appropriately. the Kenwood speakers run off the h/u's front high-level outputs
The problem: only recently, when the volume is turned up to a certain point the h/u cuts off then back on, then off again if the volume is not lowered, I've traced it down to a competition between the subs and h/u, when I move the h/u's 12V ACC wire to the boat's starting battery, the problem goes away, now the audio battery has a full charge, it almost seems as though when the bass hits I'm not getting a consistent 12V signal to the ACC wire, I'm not sure why that would be, I do not want to add a capacitor to this system, any other ideas?
Phoenix Winch LLC
oldspark 
Gold - Posts: 4,913
Gold spacespace
Posted: October 06, 2013 at 4:40 PM / IP Logged