icon

need 2 way remote start for manual trans

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bocephus660 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Posted: October 21, 2013 at 10:34 PM / IP Logged  
i am looking to install remote start in my 94 cavalier with manual transmission. it doesnt need to be anything fancy with difficult programing. i am looking for basic 2 way remote start that is DIY capable and has a 2 way remote. what do you guys recommend?
1. it needs to be a DIY type job. i have plenty of 12v knowledge and i know i can install one of these, but i read about all the programming that is needed on these newer units and it makes me think a dealer has to do the install.... i need to be able to do it on my own.
2. has to work with manual trans (obviously)
3. has to have 2 way remote.
4. all it needs to do is start the car. i realize these units now days can do so much more, but i am only interested in the remote starting aspect of the unit. thats fine if it has locks and trunk capabilities, but i dont need all the other alarms, etc...
5. needs to be under $200
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,781
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: October 22, 2013 at 7:29 PM / IP Logged  

Tough question.   A lot of requirements, but the main issue is to find a quality 2-way unit that is

manual transmission safe and DIY friendly.  There really isn't any quality brand that is DIY friendly. 
All of the major brands will not support or warranty a DIY install of their products. 

While your vehicle is very easy in auto trans form, doing a remote start on a manual trans vehicle

requires additional wiring.  Besides the clutch interlock bypass, all doors and the trunk must be