looking for on an older zenisis 402

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
gr8twhite 
Member - Posts: 23
Member spacespace
Posted: November 12, 2013 at 9:17 AM / IP Logged  
Hello all.
First off: I'm not a professional installer. I am a capable "hobbiest".
I'm an auto tech and an Aviation tech so I can find my way around electronics reasonably well. As an idea to my ability: I took a caddy CTSV steering wheel and adapted it to my 98 GMC. I cracked open the cruise and audio control buttons, remapped the circuit traces, built a resistor ladder, used a 2002 impala clockspring and fed it into the OEM radio for steering wheel audio control. Then cracked into the cruise buttons and made them work with the OEM cruise. Wheel heat and illumination works also. Finally, I used the "cell phone" button to control the nands free cell phone interface in the Cobra Cb radio I have in the truck.
Like I said, not a pro but I can find my way around.
:)
As mentioned, I've got a 1998 GMC K2500 turbo diesel. Basically, it's stone axe simple compared to today's rigs. Only convenience features are OEM remote/key-less entry. The keyless entry sucks though, you have to be within a few feet or significantly elevated above the truck (IE:second floor window)for it to work. I tried new batteries, relocating the keyless module, extending the antenna, etc. Nothing made it better. This is where I thought an aftermarket remote might be good: increased range and maybe a few more "jammy" modern features.
I was browsing ebay (yes, evil-bay)and ran across a (claimed) NIB Zenesis Z-402 AS. A quick search revealed it was a Canadian "company" and went out of business a while ago. Documentation is nearly non existent except for the occasional mention on a forum here or there.