the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

smartstart puzzle

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
smokeman1 
Platinum - Posts: 1,588
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 21, 2013 at 9:34 PM / IP Logged  
This is my first attempt at a SmartStart. I'm trying to get a SmartStart DSM200 to function with my daughters phone.
Here is what I have. My daughter lives in St.Paul MN, I am located north of Wausau, Wi.
We each have Viper 5701s installed in our vehicles. (installed be me three or so years ago).
What I am trying to do is to have the smartstart ready for her when she comes up here next week.
I have the dsm200 connected to my van, I have it authorized, it tested out ok on the web site. Purchased a plan for the service with her smart phone info, she downloaded the SmartStart app to her phone.
In theory, she should be able to lock, unlock, ect. my van from her phone.    But nothing happens.
Not having her phone here yet, and I'm not a smart phone person, I don't know if something needs to be done on her phone with the app to make it connect. Her smartstart app is showing status as UNAVAILABLE.
I understand cell service difficulties from point "A" to point "B" could be an issue. Trying to reach from the twin cities to northern WI. That's gotta be a stretch.
Just looking for things to look for that I have not thought of or over looked from some more experienced SmartStart people.
Thanks and happy turkey day to all.
When all else fails, Read the Instructions
Support the12volt.com Make a Donation
racerjames76 
Silver - Posts: 581
Silver spacespace
Posted: November 22, 2013 at 1:21 PM / IP Logged