icon

cooling fans question.

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
donkason 
Copper - Posts: 189
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 14, 2003 at 8:23 PM / IP Logged  
I have 2 soundstream amps a 4 channel lil' wonder and a rubicon class a 10.2. I am going to be running low impeadences, .67 on my sub amp and 2 ohms on my 4 channel. The amps are going to be mounted in the back of a camaro in the cargo hatch. I have my speaker box laying across the small area where my amps are going to be so there won't be any real airflow. I want to mount a stinger SF2 cooling fan back there so I don't choke my amps to death. This is my first time dealing with fans and I am not sure what would be the best power source to use. I was thinking about running it off of the remote wire off of my amp and grounding it off of the chassis. Would this cause any problem with my amp as far as extra power being sucked off. I already have the same remote wire running to both of my amps and I don't want to over do it. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks,
J. Mike Perkins
Ryan Smith 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Posted: May 14, 2003 at 8:57 PM / IP Logged  

If you have your sub enclosure laying across the "amp rack" or where ever the amps are, and you say they will not have a source of fresh air - then fans aren't going to help you much - a better system design would however.  If the amps are in their own sealed off area, then the fans are going to do nothing more than recirculate already warm air...one way or another, they need to be able to breathe, or you will have problems if the amps overheat.  Look into venting the area into the interior of the car more, or outside through a hole covered with a membrane of goretex or something like that...