icon

tips to cut down on time

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
andrewnathy 
Member - Posts: 13
Member spacespace
Posted: February 28, 2014 at 12:55 AM / IP Logged  
I recently went to work for a custom shop where my primary job is handling remote start/alarm installs. I've been working in Car electronics for the past 8 years w/ a lot of other custom work & general auto repair experience, so I generally don't have issues with trouble shooting or hitting a roadblock when I run into a problem, but I feel my installation times are painfully slow. Granted its been a while since I was installing alarms/rs day-in/day-out, and I'd been using Audiovox products for the most part whereas I'm now using DEI, so its going to take some time to get the alarm wire colors down pat, but at least the Xpresskit modules w/ a D2D connection are saving me a bit of time. I use 3M T-taps & Install Bay connectors, butane soldering iron for data connections, and Power Probe III & Fluke 88v/a Multimeter for testing. I feel like there are some other things I could be doing [or not doing] to reduce the amount of time my installs are taking, I'm sure much of this will come simply by way of experience, but if anyone could offer advice/tips/tricks to save time I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks - &E
howie (aka: harryharris)
Silver - Posts: 355
Silver spacespace
Posted: February 28, 2014 at 1:10 AM / IP Logged  
I'll ask a question then offer some advice.
At what butcher shop do you work?
3M taps????
Work fast = shoddy workmanship.
Test before boxing up.
andrewnathy 
Member spacespace
Posted: February 28, 2014 at 1:29 AM / IP Logged