icon

need clutch bypass

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
godd dan it 
Copper - Posts: 446
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 29, 2014 at 7:50 PM / IP Logged  
I installed a Viper 5901 alarm/remote starter on a manual transmission. I need to hook up a wire to the clutch pedal switch. The clutch wire is +12v N/O. I tested the wire with a DMM and it shows 12v when I start the car with the clutch pressed down and then switches to ground. Do I need to hook up a relay? And if so, how? This is my first time messing with manual transmission.
Thanks.
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,783
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: March 29, 2014 at 10:02 PM / IP Logged  

The easiest way is to use a relay.  Wire as follows ( assuming the Viper Violet (-) 200mA Starter Output is not already in use ) :

Relay Pin 85 to Viper Violet (-) 200mA Starter Output
Relay Pin 86 to +12V constant
Relay Pin 30 to one side of vehicle clutch interlock switch
Relay Pin 87 to the other side of the clutch interlock switch
Relay Pin 87a not used

This way the relay completes the interlock switch circuit whenever the Viper cranks the starter.

Additionally, the relay doesn't care what the vehicle clutch interlock signal is ( +12V, +5V, Data, chassis ground ), it just completes
the circuit, just like depressing the clutch does.

Soldering is fun!
godd dan it 
Copper - Posts: 446
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 30, 2014 at 7:17 AM / IP Logged  
Ok thanks. So if I wire a relay to the 200ma starter output, will it activate just before the Viper unit attempts to start the car?