icon

diy motorhome project

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
steve4cr 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: September 10, 2014 at 11:17 AM / IP Logged  
Hello, I am Steve and I recently purchased a new RV. I have over 25 years experience in low voltage& PBX, data installations. I know home security systems fairly well and have installed and maintained my house system for years. I am familiar with 12 volt tools, wiring, etc.
I am looking at ideas for a security system for a 2007 Ford E450 Class C RV. I have thought of using a home alarm with wireless zones or a 12 volt auto system.
Looking for ideas or perhaps someone who has done this before.
I am not familiar with car security and I see that most alarm vendors do not include a manual. I do not have issues cutting into the power door locks but am nervous about the lights & starter wires.
A local dealer quoted over $400 to do it.
I need:
-A door sensor on the coach door
-A motion sensor in the RV basement (large storage area with 3 doors    with cheap cam locks)
-A shock sensor located somewhere on the motorhome coach
-A siren
Optional:
-Key fob for power door locks and arm/disarm
-Lights blinking when alarm goes off and arm/disarm
Any and all ideas, suggestions or help will be greatly appreciated
howie ll 
Pot Metal - Posts: 16,466
Pot Metal spacespace
Posted: September 10, 2014 at 11:54 AM / IP Logged  
Some thoughts.
Assuming security rather than security and remote start.
First $400 for a motor home, assuming supply and fit and decent product, Avox/Prestige/Code, Compustar, DEI.
Bite their hands off.
Have you any idea of the labour required? Car equipment tends to be wired rather than wireless.
Nothing against home sensors but weather, shock and vibration proof?
I don't think so.
A door sensor on the coach door. Does it have any lighting e.g. dome light that comes on when you open that door? That's your door entry trigger.