the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2006 caravan radio install problem


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
DanDan 
Copper - Posts: 125
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 25, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: October 07, 2015 at 8:27 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote DanDan
OK as title says. I have a customer with a 2006 caravan xt. I removed old radio out and he wanted an aftermarket alpine installed. Seemed easy enough wired it up and when I plugged it in I noticed not enough wires in the factory plug and I knew it meant it had an amp from the factory.
No infinity badges anywhere. It did have a factory sat radio also. Obviously I had no sound. So I look the vehicle up and and there is no option with metra other than the harness only. So I got a pac interface and again before I hooked it up I notice there is no can bus wires in the plug. On the radio the plug output label there is a wire saying radio on.
Audio output is only 4 wires going to the amp or amps. If I plug the old radio in and leave the key on and plug in new radio I get the amp to work but as soon as I turn it off it won't come back on. Not much info out on the net. Anyone had this issue before. Customer does not want to bypass or change anything else. Thanks in advance for any help.
DanDan
kgerry 
Platinum - Posts: 3,455
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: February 07, 2004
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posted: October 08, 2015 at 1:22 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kgerry
i'm pretty sure all I've used on these was a Metra 70-6502
Kevin Gerry
Certified Electronics Technician
MECP First Class Installer
Owner/Installer
Classic Car Audio
since 1979
racerjames76 
Silver - Posts: 581
Silver spacespace
Joined: November 22, 2008
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: October 09, 2015 at 7:51 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote racerjames76

Yeah I have only used the simple harness on these vans. I think they are like the ram and liberty where the front door speaker has an amp on the speaker. Signal comes in splits off, one set going directly to the speaker it is mounted to and another set of wires going back inside to the rear speaker on that side.

Have no idea why they did it this way, but I usually bypass the amp at the speaker when doing a speaker install.

To master and control electricity is perfection. *evil laugh*
racerjames76 
Silver - Posts: 581
Silver spacespace
Joined: November 22, 2008
Location: Ohio, United States
Posted: October 09, 2015 at 7:52 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote racerjames76
I remember another ASE master tech rewiring the amp turn on circuit in the underhood fusebox. I always just replace speakers and bypass the amps.
To master and control electricity is perfection. *evil laugh*
DanDan 
Copper - Posts: 125
Copper spacespace
Joined: September 25, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: October 09, 2015 at 8:56 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote DanDan
Customer does not want to change anything but radio. I have never seen a set up like this from the factory. I did see a video of a van with a similar problem and the guy went to the NBS relay ( Stands for Name Brand Speaker) at the fuse box under the hood and rewired another one in it's place and it worked except it was an older van. I'm gonna check to see if it has one of these otherwise I'll keep checking. If I find a easy solution I will post it. Thanks,
DanDan
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,333
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: October 09, 2015 at 9:10 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote i am an idiot
From what you are saying about powering up the fact deck and unplugging it and it works till you cycle the key it definitely has an amplified system. Pac and Metra both make a harness to work with this type system. However this harness does not work on some Durangos. Maybe the same situation on this vehicle. The one that may work is the Metra CHTO-01 or Pac-audio.com C2RCHY4. But neither manufacturer lists their harness for that year and model. You may want to contact their tech support department to see why they do not have it listed.
blofeldscat 
Member - Posts: 1
Member spacespace
Joined: February 02, 2016
Location: Nebraska, United States
Posted: February 02, 2016 at 10:54 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote blofeldscat
Did you ever find a solution? I am having the same issue with my 2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee. New Pioneer stereo, PAC RP4-CH11 wiring harness adapter.
bs1d3 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Joined: February 17, 2014
Location: United States
Posted: February 08, 2016 at 11:16 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote bs1d3
Here's the amp wiring info regarding the relay for the Caravan.
2006 caravan radio install problem - Last Post -- posted image.
For the Cherokee, I'd try plugging the factory radio in, turn the vehicle on, turn the radio on and the volume up about 1/2 way. Disconnect the factory radio with the key still on, and plug in the PAC harness and radio and see if you have sound...then shut the vehicle off and turn back to test if it's still working...If it's a BT radio you will need to have the front and rear speaker outputs flip-flopped or no voices will be heard on BT.

If you wish to post a reply to this topic, you must first login.
If you are not already registered, you must first register.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, June 12, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer