the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

How to connect trailer cable to existing wires?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bikemaniac 
Member - Posts: 17
Member spacespace
Posted: January 16, 2016 at 10:20 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote bikemaniac
Hi,
I am about to install a brand new tow bar on my car using the classic 7-wire system. For that matter it is common to use the popular self stripping connectors and simple enter the wire into one of the rear light cavities and hook it up to all the wires supplying power to the rear lights.
http://www.autoelectricsupplies.co.uk/product/61/category/8
I am truly not a fan of these connectors.
What is the correct and professional way of connecting a trailer wire to the existing automotive wiring system?
Lucas
mscguy 
Copper - Posts: 212
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 16, 2016 at 11:04 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote mscguy
I'm not a professional.
That being said, for me....is the connection inside the vehicle? Solder and heat shrink. Is it exposed to the elements? Solder and adhesive lined heat shrink, and loom it up.   If you can't solder for whatever reason, crimp with adhesive lined heat shrink crimps.
bikemaniac 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 16, 2016 at 11:25 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote bikemaniac
So you want to tap into an existing wire by removing lets say 10mm of insulation exposing the copper and then solder the trailer wire directly onto that spot?
1991 Toyota Corolla AE92 Liftback
mscguy 
Copper - Posts: 212
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 16, 2016 at 1:41 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote mscguy
Well, you would have to cut the wire to get the heat shrink on it.
bikemaniac 
Member spacespace
Posted: January 17, 2016 at 2:02 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote bikemaniac