the12volt.com spacer
icon

4200NEX Audio Fluctuating

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mtnbiker98 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: October 03, 2016 at 11:11 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote mtnbiker98
Hello,
I will preface this with "I am a car audio novice" so, please forgive me for the lack of specific details.
I recently had a Pioneer 4200NEX installed by a reputable shop in town. I have been dealing with some issues that I am trying to independently research as I can tell that the shop is getting frustrated with me bringing the vehicle back.
What I have is the 4200NEX, in a 2006 Toy 4Runner which has the JBL Synthesis upgraded soundsystem. My understanding is that this system has a stock amplifier connected to the speakers. I also paid to have a new "module" installed that I believe controls the interface between the steering wheel buttons (volume and track advance) and the head unit.
I am having a problem where, on any input source, the volume of the unit will fluctuate without me pressing any buttons. Some times, the volume will go way up and then go all the way down for a while, then come back up. Other times, I will have to turn the HU up to volume 20 just to hear the music well. Under normal operation, I have never taken it up to vol 20...that would be way too loud. Other times, it works just fine.
The installer has replaced the HU already and is now indicating that they may have to do an amplifier bypass.
Could the issue be in the module? The installer claims "no" because when the HU adjusts it own volume, there is no audible beep like there is when you use the steering wheel buttons.
Thanks for your help. I'd like to educate myself a little before I go back.
Josh
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,668
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: October 03, 2016 at 4:51 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote geepherder