the12volt.com spacer
icon

Viper 5806V, Dball2, 1999 Grand Cherokee

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
nvdave 
Member - Posts: 10
Member spacespace
Posted: April 26, 2017 at 3:29 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote nvdave
Hey guys,
I just found this site and after a few minutes of looking, I had to join. Seems like an incredible wealth of knowledge here. I worked as an installer from 1986 to 1990 or so. Since then I’ve been an electrician, so not up to speed on any newer technology, so please forgive my ignorance. I also don’t know proper posting etiquette, but this thread was so relevant, it seemed like the best place to ask my questions.
I am installing a Viper 5806V with a Dball2 into a 1999 Grand Cherokee. I also bought the XKLoader2 and plan on flashing the Dball2 with the current firmware.
I have the Dball Chrysler2 Installation Type 3 install sheet. My main area of confusion is how much the Dball actually takes care of thru the Jeep’s data system. On the Dball sheet, it shows the Dball connecting to the parking lights, but then it shows the park lights connected to remote starter as well?? Then there are these questions I have:
1. Neutral Safety Switch – do I have to connect this or does Dball handle?
2. Hood Pin Switch – Can I tap into engine convenience light or is this handled by Dball?
     Does 5806v need a ground trigger here?
3.Brake switch – same thing – Dball?, ground trigger?
Basically what exactly in addition to the Type 3 install sheet do I need to connect?
Thanks So Much,
Dave
kaezoo 
Copper - Posts: 125
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 26, 2017 at 5:38 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kaezoo
The DBALL2 doesn't detect the hood switch or brake switch in your vehicle, so these connections will still need to be made between the remote starter and the vehicle. The neutral safety wire from the 5806V will need to be grounded as well.