icon

system info please

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jaymes 
Copper - Posts: 47
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 02, 2003 at 4:58 PM / IP Logged  
Hello. I am insatalling a system into my car and i am new to car stereo's. So far i have the headunit. What i want in  the front is 2 componant speakers on each side and 2 6X9's in the rear. In the trunk 2 12 woofers. Now my question is for amplifiers. I need to know the basic way to set up my system before i buy anything else. eg amps - channels etc. THe headunit has 4 rca outputs. thank you
esmith69 
Gold - Posts: 1,511
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 02, 2003 at 6:36 PM / IP Logged  

what's the brand/model# of your head unit?  And does it have 4 pairs of RCAs?  OR just 2 white RCAs and 2 red RCAs?

Ethan
-----
"Patience, persistence, and perspiration make an unbeatable combination for success"
Donate to the12volt.com
jaymes 
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 02, 2003 at 8:38 PM / IP Logged  

its got 2 white and 2 red. + one yellow for video but i am wondering about audio.

esmith69 
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 02, 2003 at 9:50 PM / IP Logged  

Most head units that have two sets of preamp outputs like yours, usually have one set for the front, and one set for the rear.  A few head units let you decide whether or not to have the rear set be fading, so that you can hook up a subwoofer amp to them.  Without knowing the model number of your head unit I don't know for sure if it has this feature, but you can still hook it up the other way just keep in mind if it's faded to the front you lose the bass.