icon

Pairing Subwoofers with Amp?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tim86 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: October 28, 2017 at 10:27 PM / IP Logged  
Hi all, I need opinion's on pairing 2 subwoofers with an amp I have, and want to make sure they are a good pair, so I'm looking at these.
https://www.crutchfield.ca/p_13610W0V34/JL-Audio-10W0v3-4.html and I want to pair two of these with this amp. https://www.cerwinvegamobile.com/products/mobile-audio/amplifiers/xed-amplifiers/xed1000.1m
I'm also gonna wire them to my amp for a 2ohm load. I just want to know if this setup would be ok.
tim86 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 29, 2017 at 9:03 AM / IP Logged  
I can't edit my post to switch my links to hyperlinks, but here they are. I'm a newb at forums lol.
Subwoofer
Amplifier
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,666
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: October 29, 2017 at 3:01 PM / IP Logged  
Look into the JL jx500/1d It retails for 200 dollars. It is class D and twice the power of the Class A/B amplifier you are looking at.
tim86 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 29, 2017 at 6:49 PM / IP Logged  
I already own the cerwin vega amp, I just wanted to make sure it would be good for the jl audio Sub's I am looking to buy, I have an Alpine MRV-1005 amp that has a power resistor blown and I want to get it sent out for repair, so I found that cerwin vega amp on ebay for cheap just to replace the alpine for now until I get it repaired, if it doesn't cost too much to fix lol.
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,666
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: October 29, 2017 at 7:32 PM / IP Logged  
Those speakers will work fine with that amplifier.
tim86 
Member spacespace
Posted: October 29, 2017 at 8:26 PM / IP Logged  
Ok thanks, I might consider getting the JL jx500/1d, I'm assuming you mean $200 us, it's around $400 Canadian from what I can see.
tim86