the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Directechs Accounts Shut Down? Alternatives?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
chwkrx7 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: October 29, 2017 at 10:46 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote chwkrx7
Hi all, just registered here at the12volt, should introduce myself. I'm an automotive mechanic in Houston, BC, Canada. I've only done remote start installs on friends/family vehicles, and have only ever used directed products (usually an Avital 4103 or similar with a DBALL2).
I've always found the directed site easy to use, flash the bypass, plug it into the vehicle and good to go. As I'm a GM tech by trade, I do mainly GM installations. However I got an email from directed a couple of weeks ago that my generic account (not linked to a dealer or distributor) would be terminated on Oct 31st. As I'm not affiliated with any dealer it looks like i might just be out of luck? Does anyone know a way around this, or a way that I can register my email somewhere so that my account won't be shut down?
Alternatively, I'm looking at Fortin products now, but they seem much more confusing. Would a Fortin bypass be compatible with an Avital system?
Thanks for your time,
Dirk
***Copy of email from Directed****
Dear Valued Customer,
If you are receiving this email it's because your access to Directechs.com is registered as a "Lite" account and is not associated with a direct dealer or authorized distributor account. As we launch our new platforms and for you to benefit from programs that we have planned, we need to get everyone registered into correct accounts.
So how does this affect me?
Here's the tricky part...in order to register for tech support under a dealer account or under an authorized distributor account we need to delete the generic account and your access to Directechs will be shut off.
What do you need to do?