the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Hardwiring Radar Detector?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jwarren808 
Copper - Posts: 63
Copper spacespace
Joined: May 22, 2011
Location: Texas, United States
Posted: June 30, 2018 at 3:29 PM / IP Logged  
administrator,    when i measured the wire gauge size through the size holes on my wire stripper, i inserted each of the two wires that make up the detector power wire through the hole with the rubber insulation still on it, not stripped already,   and the closest fit was the hole that said 1.6MM, with a little looseness around, but it would'nt fit in the hole of the next size down, and i googled what gauge wire 1.6MM meant, and it brought up a chart on a website for body piercing, for them to know gauge size holes to pierce them with, and it said 1.6MM = 14gauge,   so i just went by that, and i assume their chart is the same as the sizes used in electrical wiring too ?
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,668
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: October 27, 2003
Posted: June 30, 2018 at 9:04 PM / IP Logged  
You said there was about 6 inches of wire where you cut off the plug, so you should still be able to test for voltage unless you don't have it anymore, right? Another thing to check is near the power input of the detector itself look for some polarity/voltage markings. For example, it might say "12 VDC" and have a "C" shape with a dot in the middle and a "+" connected to the dot with a line. If that's the case, it's 12 volts (direct current) and the center conductor is positive. Maybe you could search for a manual online or email Cobra if you're not sure.
Yes, I'd fuse within 3 or 4 inches of your connection.
The wire gauge is determined by the diameter of the wire inside the insulation, not the insulation itself. You can strip some back and see. It may be more like 20 or 22 gauge then, which would make more sense. 20 gauge wire can handle 5 amps, 22 gauge can handle 3 amps.
My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
jwarren808 
Copper - Posts: 63
Copper spacespace
Joined: May 22, 2011
Location: Texas, United States
Posted: July 01, 2018 at 12:04 AM / IP Logged  
i have the PDF manual for it, but it did'nt say anything about the volts it is,
but searched online and saw a real similar model on ebay, (Cobra ESD-6550), mine is a ESD-6100, but they look identical,    and theres a picture of the side of it close up and it says 12V DC,
also i saw a DC Car Adapter Cigarette Lighter Plug Charger Cord For a Cobra ESD-6100, and it said:
Input Voltage: DC 12V / Output/Voltage:12V 2A,     so i am pretty sure mine is probably 12 Volt
thanks for the info,   now i'll remember that when i size up a wire, to go by the wire inside the insulation and not with the insulation,    i did'nt know that.
Page of 2

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Thursday, May 23, 2024 • Copyright © 1999-2024 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer