the12volt.com spacer
icon

57 Chevrolet, Battery Cut-Off System, Alarm

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
restoman1 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: December 25, 2018 at 4:14 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote restoman1
Ok guys (and gals). Newbie here with an off the wall alarm system that I've modified, and having problems making it work.
Here's the deal. I have a 1957 Chevy and because of the 60 year old wiring that I don't trust, I've installed a Battery Brain Platinum battery cut-off system to completely disable the electrical system. However, I also wanted to add an alarm, and didn't want a keyless type, so I got a vintage ITEC alarm off of ebay. (See the original instructions and wiring diagram that came with the alarm below.)
Since I have the Battery Brain that completely disconnects the battery from the car, I can't use the original instructions, so I modified the wiring diagram a bit to bypass the cars electrical system (see the modified wiring diagram below the original instructions and diagram) and to add a key switch to turn it on and off. Basically, I have a separate horn relay that goes to the existing horns. "Grounding" door, trunk, hood alarm switches, and two "grounding" motion detectors (One under the hood and one inside the trunk). I also have a 12 volt light (rated at .1 amp, 1.2 watts) that I installed in the dash that turns on when the doors, hood or trunk is opened. This is the "voltage sensing" part of the system.
As far as I can tell, I have it wired up correctly, but it doesn't seem to work, so I must be missing something!