the12volt.com spacer
icon

Possible Uses for Head Unit’s Built-In Amp, 5 Channel Amp Install

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jimtmcdaniels 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: April 14, 2019 at 1:45 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote jimtmcdaniels
Hi, Thank-you for any input or suggestions:
I have purchased a 1996 Ford 15 passenger long Van which I am changing into a 11 pass "fun party/camping trips" van.
At appropriate times I want to be able to throw open the side double barn doors and other doors and blast the music from the 6- 6x8 speakers and 2- 8" subwoofers.
I'm a shade tree mechanic and have installed a good number of after market stereos but rarely anything with a separate amp.
I'm a bit over my head and this stuff can get confusing for me.
So some questions come to my mind that I haven't found any answers to yet for my van set-up.
Also I need outside recommendations to help so I can move forward with complete success.
THE VAN:
The van had 6 worn out factory 6x8 speakers(Factory placements: Pass & Driver's door, mid van driver's wall, larger barn side door, rear driver & pass door).
I've replaced all 6 with Pioneer 6x8 TS-A6886R, Specs: (350 Watts Max Power (60 Watts Nominal) 4-way, 4 ohms impedance Frequency Response: 34-34,000 Hz Sensitivity: 88dB).
The van already has what seems a good, older(2009?) Pioneer head unit DEH-P3100UB
Specs: (MOSFET 50W x 4, Two-Way Crossover with separate High and Low Pass settings, 2 pair (RCA outputs: Front/Rear or Front/Sub).
It has a CD player I'll probably never use and does not support bluetooth to phone for music connectivity... but does support IPhone data charge cable for music, and I have an iPhone.
Seems I should keep this head unit till it goes out, it may prove more reliable than newer ones..
I have purchased for install:
SubWoofers: 2-Pioneer 8", TS-SW2002D2