the12volt.com spacer
icon

2010 Ford Expedition, New Radio Does Not Power Up

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
kadsura 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: September 25, 2021 at 8:49 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kadsura
Newbie here. Trying to install an aftermarket head unit myself for the first time and couldn't get it to work.
The vehicle is an 2010 Ford expedition SSV. OEM radio works fine.
Disconnected old radio. Connected a 24pin wire harness in:
Ignition
Battery
Ground
All speaker wires (8 of them)
Power antenna
Turned on car and screen on the new radio wouldn't come on. I do notice there is a 16 pin connector I'm not using. There are 2 wires on the 16 pin connector and I don't know what they are.
Also, I'm noticing I'm not using pin 15 on the 24pin connector which is a light grey/violet wire. Also do not know what that is.
Any help would be much appreciated! I tried searching the 16 pin connector diagram for this particular model/year, with no luck.
aznrac3r4lyf3 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: September 25, 2021 at 10:48 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote aznrac3r4lyf3
can you provide what wiring harness you are using? if it a harness without a module attached to it than more than likely your issue is the ignition wire.
kadsura 
Member spacespace
Posted: September 26, 2021 at 5:43 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kadsura
Just a metra 70-5521. So I do have to have a module,right? What type should I get?
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,666
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: September 26, 2021 at 10:38 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote i am an idiot
You can find a switched power source to connect your new radio's red wire to. If you look at your current harness you will notice that on the car side of the red wire of the 5521 there is no wire connected to it.
i am an idiot