the12volt.com spacer
icon

Various Model Remote Starters, Remote Info Sought

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dtnel78 
Member - Posts: 28
Member spacespace
Posted: December 10, 2022 at 11:47 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote dtnel78
I'm not purposely not putting vehicle models in as I've been coming across alot lately with a few of my customers as I'm a Locksmith, welcome to my world!
I do keys, programming, diagnostics, etc for individual but also have a few commercial accounts.
These commercial accounts are getting more and more cars that are coming from auctions with remote starts, possibly alarms unbeknownst to the customers. They'll ask me to create a key with the remote and when I look under the dash as I always do I will see an aftermarket system installed and ask them where the remote is and they'll say it doesn't have remote start and then when I show them a picture of the box, wiring strapped up in there they generally look at me dumbfounded.
I also look for the GPS systems because I'm very aware of what those do as well because I have a few buy here pay here lots also.
I haven't dug to much into it as I haven't said anything to the car dealers as I know they'd want me to find the remotes.
I Want to make sure I can do what needs to be done if asked which is why I'm looking .
I will say I have some tooling where I can create various vehicle remotes from scratch from universal remotes that I can program via the icc, frequency as doing keys I make universal remotes for alot of cars that I deal with
I'm looking how to put these boxes into programming mode, take them thru the process.
I also know on some remotes I can use a existing remote to do a multi lock press and hold with the vehicle starting after so long.
Is there a cheat sheet that shows what brands do what that someone may have created with the programming info so I have something to reference.