the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

What Remote Start/Alarms Are Good These Days?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
soundnsecurity 
Gold - Posts: 2,711
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: November 10, 2008
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: February 17, 2024 at 4:04 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote soundnsecurity
Ok so i think i have it figured out. I would either need the op-500 or the idatalink usb adapter to access all features of a compustar. Both are basically the same price +/- $20 but the op-500 can be used after the install is finished so that seems like the more logical choice. If i wanted to use a blade bypass i would go for the usb but i just dont need one for this truck. Let me know if this sounds like the right way to go or if im still not understanding something. I have zero experience with compustar brand alarms so im basically trusting the internet and we all know how easily that can send you around in circles buying unnecessary stuff.
redgrey11 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Joined: September 09, 2023
Posted: March 01, 2024 at 3:17 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote redgrey11
I did research on this recently for a DIY install on a Compustar CM-900as. The OP 500 works, but depending on the programming options, you may need updated firmware of the OP 500. I saw older posts that said the firmware updates were exclusive to authorized dealers. Some ebay sellers state they will update firmware on the units before sending out. The USB adapter is a good alternative, but there are 2 types (USB-ECO and ADS-USB). The Eco (cheaper) version may not be compatible with some Compustar models. I didn't find issues with ADS-USB cable, so I went with that. It was very easy to use the Weblink software. Note that there's older info out there that says you need the blade cartridge to flash the brain or program options, but that wasn't the case for me. I updated firmware and programmed the unit without blade inserted. The only issue I ran into was the updated firmware added new programming options but there was no explanation about their function on the available install guides.
Page of 2

If you wish to post a reply to this topic, you must first login.
If you are not already registered, you must first register.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, April 14, 2024 • Copyright © 1999-2024 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer