icon

2- 4 ohm svc subs

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
cosmic charlie 
Member - Posts: 24
Member spacespace
Posted: June 12, 2003 at 6:31 PM / IP Logged  
   Hey all, Can anyone reccomend an amp that would be able to power 2 12" kappa perfect 4ohm svc subs safely. Somewhere bettween 600 and 700wrms. Im kinda new to car audio and understand series and parrelell wiring but I dont fully understand 2ohm stereo and 4 ohm mono and which amps would handel what. Should I go with 2ch 300x2 or 600 x1. something reasonable on the wallet maybe 300 to 350 dollar price range if not lower,I kinda like US Acoustics but I dont know if they would be compatable with my ohm load. Any suggestions. Thanks     CC
Cosmic Charlie
esmith69 
Gold - Posts: 1,511
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: June 12, 2003 at 7:03 PM / IP Logged  

2 ohm stereo is basically a stereo/2 channel load, and each channel is getting 2 ohms.  A 4-ohm voice coil DVC sub with its voice coils wired in parallel would give you a single 2 ohm load.  You could then put one of these subs on each output channel, and the amp would see a 2-ohm stereo load.  With most 2-channel amplifiers, a 2-ohm stereo or 4-ohm mono/bridged load is the best way to maximize its potential power output.

A 4-ohm stereo load is really the most basic setup:  a standard 4-ohm subwoofer connected to each of the amp's 2 channels.  This is the simplest way to hook them up but usually not the best if you want to get the most out of your amp.  My friend has two 10" kappa perfects and for a year or two he head them hooked up to a Rockford Fosgate 800a2 2-channel amp as a 4-ohm stereo load.  With that amp, it was sending 200 something watts RMS to each sub and believe me they hit hard.  But he always wished he had a mono amp or really any amp that would handle the 2-ohm mono load safely.