icon

96 Chevy Tahoe, daytime running lights

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
MooseMe 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: June 17, 2003 at 8:58 PM / IP Logged  
I have a 1996 Chevy Tahoe LE.  5.7L w/ air.  I have a green headlight on my dash indicating daytime running lights.  But the lights don't work.  Anyone know where I can find the relays or sensors to try and fix the problem?  All help will be greatly appreciated.
chuck_tempe 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 23, 2003 at 12:42 AM / IP Logged  

i'm not an expert on that, but first, check to see if your brake light indicator on the dash is working.  on gm vehicles, the daytime running lights (drl) turn off when the parking brake is on.

with the ignition on, set the parking brake see if the red idiot light comes on the dash,  if it does and the drl (green) indicator goes off, then someone removed the fuse or relay that is underneath the hood.  with the parking brake on, the green indicator will turn off.

if there is no red brake light, then a previous owner may have bypassed the parking brake switch and/or remove the light bulb for the parking brake indicator.

the owner's manual should list a fuse location for the drl's and if it doesn't, call the parts guy at the dealer to see if there is a relay or fuse for it. (parts guys/gals are usually pretty helpful on questions.)

MooseMe 
Member spacespace
Posted: June 23, 2003 at 6:14 AM / IP Logged  
Thanks for the info.  That is one route that I haven't tried yet.  I finally found the relay under the dash next to the flashers relay, changed it, but no change overall.  Still no DRL.  But I will follow up with your advise and see if it is the answer.   THANKS!
chuck_tempe 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 23, 2003 at 10:39 PM / IP Logged