icon

Custom Tweeter Installation

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
yosuthnmasa 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: June 27, 2003 at 11:54 AM / IP Logged  
I just bought a CDT component set-CL61. I've decided to install the tweeters in the door panel of my 2000 Toyota Tacoma since there are no stock tweeter locations. I'm pretty new to custom installations and don't know how to install them the right way and make it look professional. Any suggestions on how to install them. I've read posts about cusom baffles, etc. How do you secure the tweeter to the door panel? How do you make it flush with the vinyl and stay secure? Should I mount flush or with the domes that are included? Also, how do I wire it to the crossover, amp, 6.5''s, and HU? What is the best way to wire it. Please explain for the newbie.
Josh
Sweekster 
Silver - Posts: 481
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 27, 2003 at 1:12 PM / IP Logged  
How you mount the tweeters is pretty much a personal prefernce on your part.  Which ever way you think will look and sound good to you is the way to go.  Flush mounting the tweeter involves cutting a hole in the door panel-which you would need a hole saw for that.  The tweeter usually comes with a snap ring to hold it in place when you put it in. It pretty much looks professional when you do it that way.  Just dont make the whole too big.  If you don't think you would do it right, I would suggest taking the door panels to a local car audio shop in your area and having them cut the holes for you. 
yosuthnmasa 
Member spacespace
Posted: June 30, 2003 at 1:42 PM / IP Logged  

What about wiring the mids and tweeters with the crossover and amplifier?

Josh
Sweekster 
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 30, 2003 at 2:11 PM / IP Logged  

are you using the factory toyota radio or an after market radio?

yosuthnmasa 
Member spacespace
Posted: July 02, 2003 at 6:34 AM / IP Logged  
Aftermarket Stereo
Josh
Sweekster 
Silver spacespace