icon

e-bay fiberglass mat

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
aggie altima 
Silver - Posts: 298
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 01, 2003 at 12:09 PM / IP Logged  
hey everyone. I am just getting into fiberglassing, and I have no experience with it. I just wanted to know what e-type fiberglass mat is. They have it on e-bay at this link:
http:///.com/ebaymotors/dll?ViewItem&category=26451&item=2426271582
do you think this would work for a sealed fiberglass enclosure, or am I better off going to kragen's and getting the Bondo brand fiberglass? i am somewhat on a budget, so i'm just trying to save money, but i know i shouldn't save money on something that is unreliable. thanks for any input.
pureRF 
Silver - Posts: 619
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 01, 2003 at 4:41 PM / IP Logged  
that fiberglass mat will work just fine but i would suggest the 2.1 oz ones he is selling.
dream it, build it, fiberglass it
pureRF 
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 01, 2003 at 4:41 PM / IP Logged  
O yea and 20 yards is a ton of mat.
iaudio 
Copper - Posts: 82
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 01, 2003 at 5:56 PM / IP Logged  
E-glass is normal mat. S-glass is lighter,stronger and costs more
aggie altima 
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 02, 2003 at 3:00 PM / IP Logged  
well, i'm not too worried about the weight. i'm pretty sure the weight difference between e-glass and s-glass won't be enough to dramatically affect my getting from point A to B, since I'd rather get there loud and clean than fast.
oh, and as for the 2.1 oz vs the 1.3 oz, what is the difference between applying the two? would you need less layers if using the 2.1 oz? i would just like to know why you would suggest the 2.1 oz over the 1.3 oz.
one last thing, thank you, pureRF and iaudio, for your replies.
pureRF 
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 03, 2003 at 11:30 AM / IP Logged