icon

Manual Remote Start

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
diabloed 
Copper - Posts: 133
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 13, 2003 at 7:48 AM / IP Logged  
just wondering if anyone on here knew of any really good alarm/remote start systems that work good on manuals? i would like to have something with capabilities to do a window roll-up module and also had a 2-way trasmitter. any info would be great.
PS i am an installer and know the issues with manual w/ remote start!
i would just go with a standard remote start but i would like to have the conveince and saftey of having one that was designed for the manuals.
elrayodesinaloa 
Copper - Posts: 120
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 13, 2003 at 12:15 PM / IP Logged  
I wouldn't install a remote start on a manual transmission. There are systems where you atach a wire from the alarm to the emergency brake. When the alarms sees that input then the remote starts works if it doesn't, it won't, but even like that is still dangerous there are many issues. When customers come to me and really want it, I make them sign a note that states that I'm not liable for accidents that may happen as a result of the installation.  I've only done a few.
bpoppe4 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Posted: August 13, 2003 at 7:15 PM / IP Logged  
I know of systems that have a "turbo timer" included with the alarm.  The car continues running with the key out of the cylinder until the last door is closed, that way it ensures that the car is in neutral.  If the "turbo timer" feature is cancelled, the car will NOT remote start next time you try.  However, if it is allowed to run until the door is shut, the car will start next time.  It does have a two minute time limit, so you can't sit in the car for very long otherwise it won't remote start next time.
JWorm 
Platinum - Posts: 2,208
Platinum spacespace
Posted: August 13, 2003 at 8:35 PM / IP Logged  
Look at the AST TL4500M if you want a 2-way pager.
www.ultrastarters.com