icon

enclosures build or buy?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
HumbleI 
Copper - Posts: 103
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 16, 2003 at 8:28 PM / IP Logged  
this is the first time IM doing car audio.... some installer gave me an outragous price quote, so I thnk Im going to take the job on myself, I own 2 MTX 6000's ( T6124A) and 2 MTX 8000's (T8124) which ones would be better to run?? the 8000's look like they would be better but I have no experience with either of them .... I also have an Alpine V12 amp ( MRV-1507... I am going to buy a yellow top battery and 1 farad battery caps. what should I do?? I have a 1994 honda accord, Id like to put this in myself but I have never done anything like that before, so as much info as you can give is appreciated!! thanks always , Selah
Rjahr01 
Copper - Posts: 57
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 16, 2003 at 8:58 PM / IP Logged  
personally if you haven't done this before i would let someone else do this...it involves removing the head unit and some other panels and then building some relays laying a bunch of wires...and then of course fabricating your own box unless you want to put a generic box in and let the amps roll around...how much were you estimated...i would say around 700 to do the whole thing...
esmith69 
Gold - Posts: 1,511
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: August 16, 2003 at 9:06 PM / IP Logged  

The 8000s are the better of the two.

If you don't mind me asking, where are you located in the country?  And how much did this installer quote you for and what did the quote include?  I just wanna make sure you've investigated all the possible places to get it installed before doing it yourself.

Just a warning if you've never done car stereo stuff it's gonna be a lot of work, but it's definitely do-able.  I'd suggest you check out Crutchfield's info center cuz they have a really good step-by-step on how to install amps.