icon

1999 expedtion\car starter

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
monsterbash 
Member - Posts: 3
Member spacespace
Posted: September 30, 2003 at 12:59 PM / IP Logged  

Newbie here looking for some information on installing a car starter in a 1999 Eddie Expdition with a factory alarm system and a chipped key...Is there any tricks or trouble I’m going to run into before I rip my truck apart?  I have a feeling there is going to be a issue with alarm..

12voltassassin 
Member - Posts: 24
Member spacespace
Posted: October 01, 2003 at 12:40 PM / IP Logged  
TAKE IT TO A PROFESSIONAL SAVE THE CAR AND SAVE THE STRESS OR HAVE SOMEONE WHO KNOWS HOW TO INSTALL GOOD DO IT WITH YOU. DONT TRY IT YOURSELF.
i hate ebay they are stealing my business
abra0095 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: October 03, 2003 at 7:18 AM / IP Logged  

Did you get any other info on installing the alarm?  I have a 2001 Supercrew with factory alarm and chipped key.  Any help?  Thanks!

Jeff Abrahamson
tcool 
Copper - Posts: 100
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: October 03, 2003 at 12:51 PM / IP Logged  

Here is a thread on the same question:

https://www.the12volt.com/installbay/forum_posts.asp?tid=10269&KW=expedition

You are going to need a transponder bypass kit for your SUV. Don't bother with the factory remote, the range will be much better with a new integrated alarm/starter combo, and the price will be similar. Trust 12voltassasin though, if you have no experience installing that is a pretty daunting task. If you feel confident you can do it, do a search on expedition in the car security forums and read other posts.

Good luck!

bzzzzttttt
abra0095 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: October 03, 2003 at 3:48 PM / IP Logged