icon

simple relay question

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
southpawboston 
Member - Posts: 24
Member spacespace
Posted: December 17, 2003 at 2:04 PM / IP Logged  
I'm a newbie here, so excuse me if I overlooked any relevant posts that would answer this question.
I have an '02 elantra with factory alarm/keyless. The factory alarm has no armed output and no LED. I want to add a Millenium FX pager, and a flashing LED. Replacing the factory system is not an option. Since there is no armed output, I want to create a "mock" armed output using the door locks. The elantra has a wire that tests (-) when the doors are unlocked, and dead when the doors are locked.
I would like to tap into this lead to create a (-) output when:
the doors are locked AND
the ignition is off
This (-) output will be used to satisfy the pager's (-) armed input requirement and will also be used to drive a dummy flashing LED.
Here's my proposed relay setup, which requires one relay to convert the dead signal to (-), and a second relay to inactivate the first relay when the ingnition is switched on. Am I doing something wrong? Is there a simpler way? I realize the first relay will be energized whenever the car is off and the doors is unlocked, but this is okay with me.
simple relay question -- posted image.
southpawboston 
Member - Posts: 24
Member spacespace
Posted: December 17, 2003 at 2:32 PM / IP Logged  
oops... i now see multiple mistakes. the armed (-) signal going to the pager transmitter should be connected to 87a, not 87 on the first relay, and the second relay is all wrong. i should have relay 2 inactivate the armed signal from 87 on relay 1 when switched 12V is applied.
xetmes 
Silver - Posts: 586
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 17, 2003 at 4:00 PM / IP Logged