icon

my current project lcd screen enclosure

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
94mx-5 
Member - Posts: 32
Member spacespace
Posted: December 28, 2003 at 10:53 PM / IP Logged  

This is just what I have so far, there are probably easier ways to do this, feel free to let me know, this is my first attempt at something like this so it was a learning experience for sure.

The best place I found for the screen was the glove box door, it had a big semi-flat space that was begging to be filled.

my current project lcd screen enclosure - Last Post -- posted image.

The first cut I did with the dremal wheel, I knew this would be covered later so I wasn't too concerned with the cleanleness...this was the first cut, I made this one smaller and then worked out to the final size with some other sanding tools.

The screen didn't come with any mounting hardware that I could use for this application so I just removed the front piece, the plan is to mount this then attach the rest of the screen in when the rest of the job is finished, the rest of the screen attaches with some screws from the side, these are accesable from the back.

I used some simple cheap filler to build up around the egdes quickly.

Then I topped all of that off with some body filler, then i sanded it all smoothe. There were some little potholes from airbubles in the filler so I went back a second time to fill them in.

Tommorrow I will sand it all down the rest of the way and then finsih is off with paint...then after that comes the doors

xetmes 
Silver - Posts: 586
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 29, 2003 at 7:58 AM / IP Logged  
lookin good so far my current project lcd screen enclosure - Last Post -- posted image.
NaughtyLMnky 
Copper - Posts: 57
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 29, 2003 at 9:56 AM / IP Logged