Amps and Speaker Power

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
KrazyLoCo 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 07, 2004 at 10:56 PM / IP Logged  

Hi,

I have done my research and cannot find an answer to my question(s). I'm a noob at car audio stuff, so please bear with me.

I want to put a 1000WATT subwoofer in my car, along with 400watt 4-way speakers. My CD deck only produces 200 watts max.

Now say my sub is 1000watts peak and 500watts RMS. Would I have to get an amp that produces 1000watts of power or 500watts of power?

Also, how would I go about hooking the amp up to my 4 speakers? Could I buy a 200watt amp and use the deck for the other 200watts?

Do I need 2 amps?

I'm so confused with this stuff. I hope my post makes sense... I just want to understand all of that stuff so I can begin looking for subs/amps/speakers. Thank you!

bberman1 
Gold - Posts: 2,314
Gold spacespace
Posted: January 07, 2004 at 11:17 PM / IP Logged