Buying 4 Speakers

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
KrazyLoCo 
Copper - Posts: 55
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 09, 2004 at 4:18 PM / IP Logged  

Hey All,

While shopping for 4 mid/high speakers, I noticed they come in pairs of 2. On the specs (example>>>) it says 300 watts max. Then on the speaker it says 300 watts. Does this mean that they are 300 watts each and a total of 600 watts per pair, or does it mean both of them combined equals 600 watts. I know they mean peak power, but I just want to get this straight. Like I said, it says 300 watts on the back of the speaker, so I would guess it's 600 watts PEAK total? Thanks, I don't want to under power my 4 speakers so I need to get this cleared up. Yes I know I am a noob! : )

DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 09, 2004 at 4:35 PM / IP Logged  

It depends on the speaker.  Some manufacturers give better ratings than others, and some outright lie.  What make/model are you considering?

KrazyLoCo 
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 09, 2004 at 6:41 PM / IP Logged  

I was thinking of buying some Pioneer, JVC, or Kenwood speakers.

astro88 
Copper - Posts: 195
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 09, 2004 at 7:59 PM / IP Logged  
White lies... soundstorm,pyramid,jenson,SONY HAHA outright lies...
fatdaddyjoe 
Copper - Posts: 129
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 09, 2004 at 8:13 PM / IP Logged  
throw some exact model numbers at us and we can tell you precisely what wattages you will be getting.....
the louder the better !!!!!!
can you feel it ?????
KrazyLoCo 
Copper spacespace
Posted: January 09, 2004 at 9:03 PM / IP Logged